AWF File

AllianceBernstein Global High Income Fund

Discount
−8.95%as of 3/31/26
Yield
~7.7%
Coverage
~92%
FY26 ROC
~0.9%
Z-Score
—Pending feed
Bank Debt
$0
Hold · 3.2/5
The Story, In Plain English

AWF is a genuine global high-yield bond fund trading at a meaningful discount — the shares closed the fiscal year at $10.17 against an NAV of $11.17, a −8.95% discount as of March 31, 2026 (from the Fund's N-CSR Financial Highlights). The ~7.7% distribution is running slightly ahead of what the portfolio earns.

Coverage sits near 92% — net investment income of $62.1M against distributions of $67.2M for the fiscal year ended March 31, 2026 (per the Fund's N-CSR Statement of Operations and Statement of Changes in Net Assets). The fund also recorded a small $0.62M return of capital in FY2026. That's not an emergency — near-term, the fund earns most of what it pays — but it's a trend worth watching rather than ignoring.

Whether the current price is cheap or expensive relative to AWF's own trading history is the more statistically significant valuation question — that comparison needs a continuous daily price/NAV feed to compute a z-score properly, which isn't connected here (EDGAR filings report price and NAV only at period-end). Once live, the Valuation section will show exactly where AWF's discount sits against its own range.

01Fund Overview
Fund Overview
Full Name
AllianceBernstein Global High Income Fund, Inc.
Ticker / Exchange
AWF · NYSE
Manager
AllianceBernstein L.P.
SEC File Number
811-07732 (per N-CSR)
Total Net Assets
$963.4M (3/31/26 N-CSR) · $979.2M (6/30/26 N-PORT)
Primary Benchmark
Bloomberg Global High Yield (USD hedged)
Fiscal Year End
March 31 (per N-CSR)
Distribution
Monthly · $0.0655/share regular (est.)
Market Price (3/31/26)
$10.17 (per N-CSR)
Bank Borrowings
$0 (per 6/30/26 N-PORT)
Tax Form
1099-DIV · No K-1
Fund Type
Closed-End Fund · Global HY / Multi-Sector
What This Fund Does

AWF is a true global fixed-income fund — not just a U.S. high-yield fund with foreign names added.

Per the Fund's N-CSR, the Team "seeks to generate high current income and, secondarily, capital appreciation" through a globally diversified portfolio that pursues income opportunities across all fixed-income sectors. It invests primarily — and without limit — in corporate debt from U.S. and non-U.S. issuers, plus government bonds from developing and developed countries. The portfolio spans:

  • Below-investment-grade corporate bonds — the core sleeve, 62.0% of investments were non-investment-grade corporates at period-end (per the Fund's N-CSR fair-value table, 3/31/26).
  • Emerging-market sovereign and corporate debt — including EM sovereigns, quasi-sovereigns and EM treasuries; the country footnote lists exposure across Brazil, Mexico and Eastern Europe among dozens of others.
  • Investment-grade credit and bank loans — held opportunistically; IG corporates were ~14.9% and bank loans ~5.6% of investments at period-end (per the Fund's N-CSR fair-value table).

Currency exposure is real and actively managed via forwards. On top of the bond portfolio, the fund uses interest rate futures, credit default swaps, and interest rate swaps to position duration, credit, and currency simultaneously (per the Fund's N-CSR portfolio commentary). This makes AWF considerably more complex than its yield suggests — but in a portfolio it provides genuine international diversification that most domestic-focused income funds don't offer.

02Research & Scores
Every fund is scored across six dimensions on a 1–5 scale using the same published, rules-based methodology. The Overall Score is the unweighted average of the six. The Research View (Buy / Hold / Avoid) follows from the overall score and the pattern of individual dimensions — not from any single number. Blueprint inclusion requires an overall of 4.0 or higher with no dimension below 2. Scores are reviewed quarterly and reflect the fund's condition as of the update date below, not a forecast.
Overall Score
3.2/5
Research View: Hold

A genuine global high-yield CEF — rare for its breadth across U.S. junk bonds, EM sovereign debt, and active currency management. Near-term, the portfolio earns most of what it distributes (coverage ~92%, per the Fund's N-CSR), and it carries no bank borrowings. Solid portfolio quality and manager execution are offset by elevated risk, ordinary-income tax treatment, and a slight coverage gap. Fits balanced or growth income as a satellite global diversifier. The period-end discount of −8.95% (per the Fund's N-CSR) is favorable on its face, but z-score context — the more statistically significant valuation question — requires a licensed daily NAV/price feed; see Valuation.

Last updated June 13, 2026 · Yield Files Research
Discount to NAV
−8.95%
$10.17 price ÷ $11.17 NAV, as of 3/31/26 (N-CSR)
Z-Score
—Pending daily feed
52-Wk Disc Range
—Pending daily feed
Distribution Yield
~7.7%
Est. $0.0655/mo on $10.17 price · pending distribution confirmation
Coverage Ratio
~92%
NII $62.1M ÷ distributions $67.2M (FY26 N-CSR)
FY26 Return of Capital
$0.62M
~0.9% of distributions (per N-CSR Stmt of Changes)
Dimension Scores
Strong (4–5)
Moderate (3)
Weak (1–2)
💰
Distribution Sustainability
Coverage ~92% (NII $62.1M vs. distributions $67.2M, FY26 N-CSR). Small $0.62M return of capital recorded in FY26. Net investment income slipped modestly year-over-year ($62.1M vs. $64.2M). Near-term supported, but the gap warrants monitoring.
View full analysis →
3/5
Monitor
⚖️
Valuation
Period-end discount −8.95% (price $10.17 vs. NAV $11.17, 3/31/26 N-CSR) is favorable on its face. Z-score and historical-range context pending a licensed daily NAV/price feed.
View full analysis →
4/5
Favorable
⚠️
Risk Profile
62% below-IG corporates, EM sovereign + active currency + derivatives. No bank borrowings, but derivatives (CDS, forwards, futures, rate swaps) add complexity. More moving parts than the yield alone suggests.
View full analysis →
2/5
Elevated Risk
🌍
Manager Quality
AB's Global High Income Team, unchanged adviser since inception; auditor tenure since 1968. Consistent unconstrained execution, though the fund underperformed both benchmarks over the trailing year (per N-CSR).
View full analysis →
4/5
Solid
💧
Liquidity
Large NYSE-listed CEF (~$963M net assets). Adequate for most retail positions. Daily volume/spread pending a licensed feed. Use limit orders above $50K.
View full analysis →
4/5
Adequate
🧾
Tax Efficiency
1099-DIV only — no K-1. Income primarily ordinary (bond interest — $71.5M interest income in FY26). Best held in an IRA.
View full analysis →
2/5
Ordinary Income
03Distribution Sustainability3/5Monitor
Near-term supported — coverage ~92%, small return of capital in FY26, longer-term gap warrants monitoring
Monitor
Net Investment Income
$62.1M
FY26 · per N-CSR Stmt of Operations
Distributions Paid
$67.2M
FY26 · per N-CSR Stmt of Changes
Coverage Ratio
~92%
NII ÷ distributions paid
Return of Capital (FY26)
$0.62M
~0.9% of distributions · per N-CSR
Interest Income
$71.5M
FY26 gross interest · per N-CSR
NII vs. Prior Year
−$2.1M
$62.1M FY26 vs. $64.2M FY25 ⚠
Fwd Yield
~7.7%
Est. on $10.17 market price
Coverage Ratio & UNII Balance — Trailing 12 Months
Illustrative trend; danger thresholds at 100% coverage (left) and $0.00 UNII (right). Coverage anchored to the FY26 ~92% figure per N-CSR; UNII per-share path is an estimate pending confirmation.

The distribution is largely covered in the near term, but earnings are running a touch short of what's being paid.

For the fiscal year ended March 31, 2026, AWF earned net investment income of $62.1M against distributions to shareholders of $67.2M (both per the Fund's N-CSR). That is a coverage ratio of roughly 92% — meaning about 8% of the payout was not funded by earned income.

  • Coverage ratio of ~92% — the ~8% gap is bridged by realized gains or a modest return of capital. In FY26 the Fund explicitly recorded $619,230 of return of capital (per the N-CSR Statement of Changes in Net Assets), roughly 0.9% of total distributions — a small figure, but the presence of any ROC alongside sub-100% coverage is the signal to watch.
  • Net investment income declined year-over-year — from $64.2M in FY25 to $62.1M in FY26 (per the N-CSR). A softening income base against a stable payout is exactly what pressures coverage over time.

Neither is alarming at these levels. A single-digit coverage gap and a sub-1% return of capital are well within the range a fund can sustain, and AWF carries no bank borrowings to amplify the strain. But both metrics trend in the wrong direction if the credit environment softens.

The exact per-share monthly distribution and the multi-year distribution character are not stated in the fetched N-CSR sections; the $0.0655/month figure is an estimate pending confirmation.

Data gap: The per-share monthly distribution amount and the ordinary-income/capital-gain/ROC monthly split are not present in the fetched N-CSR windows. A Section 19(a) notice for AWF was NOT found in SEC EDGAR full-text search — distribution composition below is an estimate pending that source. Coverage ratio and the $0.62M ROC figure are sourced from the Fund's N-CSR.
Distribution History
Annual Total Distributions Per Share — Illustrative History
Illustrative — per-share distribution history is not stated in the fetched N-CSR sections and is pending confirmation. Bars shown for shape only.
Monthly Distribution Per Share — Recent 12 Months (Estimated)
Estimated at $0.0655/share monthly — pending confirmation from AB filings
Per-share distribution amounts and pay dates are not present in the fetched N-CSR sections and a 19(a) notice was not located in EDGAR. A detailed per-period distribution table is withheld rather than fabricated.
Distribution Composition

The distribution is predominantly ordinary income, with a small return-of-capital component — the profile of an earned bond distribution, not a manufactured yield.

Because AWF holds taxable bonds, the bulk of what it pays is interest income taxed at ordinary rates — the Fund reported $71.5M of gross interest income in FY26 (per the N-CSR). The N-CSR's Federal Tax Information note states that 61.62% of ordinary dividends paid may be treated as interest-related dividends for foreign shareholders, and designates $64.0M of distributions as section 163(j) interest dividends — both consistent with an overwhelmingly interest-driven payout. A coverage ratio near 92%, plus the disclosed $0.62M return of capital (~0.9%), implies a small non-earned slice. The precise ordinary/capital-gain/ROC split for 1099-DIV purposes is set only after the calendar tax year closes.

Ordinary Income ~92%
Return of Capital ~1%
Capital Gain / Other ~7%
Estimated FY2026 character. The ~1% ROC anchor is the Fund's own disclosed $0.62M return of capital (N-CSR); the ordinary/capital-gain split is inferred from ~92% coverage and the interest-heavy income base and is NOT source-confirmed. No 19(a) notice was located in EDGAR.
Tax YearOrdinary IncomeQualified Div.LT Cap GainReturn of CapitalTax-Exempt
FY2026 (est.)~92%minimal~7%~1%—
FY2025pendingpendingpending$0 ROC*—
FY2024pendingpendingpendingpendingpending
*FY25 return of capital shown as $0 per the Fund's N-CSR Statement of Changes in Net Assets (which reports "–0–" for the prior year). Full tax-character percentages pending 19(a) / 1099-DIV sourcing, which were not available in EDGAR. A rising ROC share year-over-year would be the early warning that the distribution is drifting from earned income toward capital return.
Earned Income vs. Return of Capital — Multi-Year

A simpler, longer-history split: was each year's distribution actually earned (net investment income plus realized gains), or did the fund return investor capital to sustain the payout? For FY26, the Fund earned $62.1M of NII plus a small net realized loss position, against $67.2M distributed and $0.62M explicitly returned as capital. The chart below is illustrative for shape only where prior-year per-share data is not in the fetched filing.

Earned Income vs. Return of Capital — Multi-Year (Illustrative)
FY26 ROC anchored to N-CSR ($0.62M ≈ 0.9%); earlier years illustrative pending Financial Highlights per-share sourcing
Cut History
Recent FY
→
Distribution rate stable through FY26
Total distributions were $67.2M in FY26 vs. $69.1M in FY25 (per N-CSR), a modest decline driven by the smaller share count/income base rather than a headline rate cut. The detailed per-period cut history is not present in the fetched filing.
What the filings confirm: FY26 distributions of $67.2M were covered ~92% by net investment income, with a small $0.62M return of capital (all per the Fund's N-CSR). A full multi-decade cut history is not reconstructable from the fetched EDGAR windows and is withheld rather than fabricated.
04ValuationCEF Only4/5Favorable
Period-end discount −8.95% (per N-CSR); z-score pending a licensed daily NAV/price feed Discount −8.95%
Market Price
$10.17
as of 3/31/2026 (per N-CSR Financial Highlights)
NAV Per Share
$11.17
as of 3/31/2026 (per N-CSR Financial Highlights)
Period-End Discount
−8.95%
Computed: $10.17 ÷ $11.17 − 1, as of 3/31/26
5-Yr Avg. Discount
—Pending daily feed
Z-Score (1-Year)
— Pending feed
Requires a continuous daily discount history not available from EDGAR filings alone
Z-Score (3-Year)
— Pending feed
Requires a continuous daily discount history not available from EDGAR filings alone
What Z-Score Means
Z-score measures how statistically unusual the current discount is relative to its own history. Below −2 is a strong historical mean-reversion signal; near 0 is fairly valued; positive is expensive. Displayed once a licensed daily NAV/price feed is connected.
52-Week Discount Range
Pending daily feed — not derivable from EDGAR's periodic filings

AWF closed its fiscal year at a −8.95% discount — the shares traded at $10.17 against a net asset value of $11.17 on March 31, 2026 (both figures from the Fund's N-CSR Financial Highlights).

A near-9% discount is a genuine tailwind: a buyer at that level acquires roughly a dollar of assets for about 91 cents, and captures the full NAV yield on a smaller price base. But a single period-end snapshot cannot tell you whether −8.95% is cheap or expensive for AWF — that requires comparing it to the fund's own trailing discount range, which needs a continuous daily price/NAV series. EDGAR filings report price and NAV only at quarter-end, so the z-score and 52-week range remain pending a licensed daily feed.

A current or live premium/discount (as of any date later than 3/31/2026) is N/A — EDGAR filings are point-in-time and lagged; a real-time market price per share is not an SEC-disclosed field. Any discount z-score or daily-average discount is N/A — requires a continuous daily market-price series, not available from EDGAR.

↳NAV Erosion AnalysisCEF Only
NAV — Today
$11.17
As of 3/31/2026 (per N-CSR)
Net Assets (3/31/26)
$963.4M
End of period (per N-CSR)
Net Assets — Prior Year
$966.4M
Beginning of period (per N-CSR)
FY26 Net Op. Increase
+$64.8M
Net increase from operations (per N-CSR)
FY26 Net Asset Change
−$3.0M
Total decrease after distributions (per N-CSR)
5-Yr NAV Trend
N/A
Multi-year per-share NAV not in fetched Financial Highlights window

Over FY26, AWF earned more than it paid at the operations level, but distributions slightly outpaced the total — leaving net assets marginally lower.

  • Operations were positive. The Fund generated a net increase from operations of $64.8M in FY26 — net investment income of $62.1M plus $2.7M of net realized/unrealized gains (per the N-CSR Statement of Changes in Net Assets).
  • Distributions edged past operations. Distributions of $67.2M plus $0.62M of return of capital exceeded the $64.8M of operating gains, producing a $3.0M net decrease in net assets — from $966.4M to $963.4M over the year.

A $3.0M decline on a ~$966M base is about −0.3% — effectively flat. This is a fund covering nearly all of its payout from earnings, with a very small drawdown of capital at the margin, not a structurally eroding NAV. A longer multi-year per-share NAV series is not present in the fetched Financial Highlights window, so a five-year erosion figure is marked N/A rather than estimated.

How to monitor NAV erosion: Watch AWF's period-end net assets and NAV per share across successive N-CSR/N-PORT filings. A sustained downward NAV trend — even while distributions stay constant — is the early warning that the payout is outrunning earnings. FY26's near-flat net-asset change (−0.3%) is reassuring; a widening gap would not be.
05Risk Profile2/5Elevated Risk
N-CSR Parse
Level 3 Concentration
~2.6%
$24.6M of $965.9M total investments valued with significant unobservable inputs (per N-CSR fair-value table, 3/31/26)
N-CSR Parse
Defaulted / Zero-Value Holdings
Present
Several issuers (e.g. Magnetation, Exide Technologies) carry zero market value at period-end (per N-CSR portfolio of investments)
Predominantly below-investment-grade with meaningful EM and currency exposure — tail risk not visible in the yield alone
Monitor
What This Means For Your Portfolio
Portfolio Strengths
✓Genuine geographic diversification — dozens of non-U.S. countries listed in the portfolio footnote (per N-CSR)
✓No bank borrowings ($0 per 6/30/26 N-PORT) — leverage is derivatives-based, not floating-rate debt
✓1,259 holding rows (per N-PORT) — single-issuer concentration is low; largest debt name is ~0.57% of net assets
✓~15% investment-grade corporate sleeve provides a quality buffer above a pure HY fund
Key Risks To Monitor
✗Credit Risk — 62% below-IG corporates (per N-CSR); primary driver of NAV volatility in a downturn
✗Currency & Geopolitical Risk — currency decisions detracted over the 12-month period (per N-CSR commentary)
✗Derivatives Complexity — CDS, forwards, futures and rate swaps add basis and counterparty risk
Full risk catalogue with severity ratings below ↓
Portfolio Composition & Holdings
Total Holding Rows
1,259
Per N-PORT, as of 6/30/26
Eff. Duration
N/A
N-PORT gives DV01 by maturity bucket, not a vendor duration figure
Net Assets
$979.2M
Per N-PORT, as of 6/30/26 ($963.4M at 3/31/26 N-CSR)
Bank Borrowings
$0
Per N-PORT, as of 6/30/26

AB runs AWF as a genuinely unconstrained global fixed-income portfolio — the Team allocates across U.S. high yield, investment-grade credit, EM sovereign debt, bank loans and structured credit based on relative value (per the N-CSR strategy discussion). As of the 3/31/26 fair-value table, non-investment-grade corporates dominated at 62.0% of investments, with investment-grade corporates ~14.9%, EM corporate bonds ~5.7%, bank loans ~5.6%, EM sovereigns/quasi-sovereigns/treasuries collectively meaningful, and U.S. Treasuries ~1.7%.

The ~15% investment-grade corporate sleeve is notably high for a fund marketed as global high yield — a deliberate quality buffer. Over FY26 the N-CSR notes sector allocation detracted, driven partly by an overweight to U.S. investment-grade corporates and an underweight to EM sovereigns. Investors are not getting maximum yield — they are getting a risk-managed approach to global income.

Composition by Bond Type — % of Investments (per N-CSR fair-value table, 3/31/26)
Corporates — Non-IG
62.0%
Corporates — Investment Grade
14.9%
EM Corporate Bonds
5.7%
Bank Loans
5.6%
EM Sovereigns / Quasi-Sov.
~4.1%
Governments / Treasuries
~2.4%
Structured / Securitized (CMO/ABS/CLO/CMBS)
~1.7%
Percentages computed from the dollar values in the Fund's N-CSR fair-value hierarchy table (3/31/26), expressed as a share of total investments (~$956M). Categories under ~0.4% are grouped. N-PORT's SEC-assetCat view (as of 6/30/26) independently shows Debt 92.1%, Loan 5.0% of net assets — a coarser cross-check on a different date.
Credit Quality Distribution

N/A — a fund-level AAA-through-NR quality-rating breakdown was NOT FOUND in the fetched N-CSR (the "Portfolio Composition by Quality Rating" section was reported not found), and the public N-PORT schema contains no per-security rating field. What the filings do confirm: 62.0% of investments are non-investment-grade corporates and ~14.9% are investment-grade corporates (per N-CSR fair-value table), so the portfolio is majority below-investment-grade. A precise ratings ladder is withheld rather than fabricated.

Geographic Breakdown

The N-CSR states country breakdown is expressed as a percentage of total investments; the fetched window lists an "Other" bucket of ≤0.8%-each names spanning dozens of countries (Argentina, Brazil context, China, Egypt, Indonesia, Mexico context, Nigeria, Ukraine, Zambia and many more) but the precise country percentages were beyond the fetched window. A specific U.S./Europe/LatAm/Asia split is marked N/A pending the full portfolio-composition page rather than estimated.

Rate sensitivity (DV01, not effective duration): Per the Fund's N-PORT Item B.5, a 1bp rate move changes portfolio value by roughly −$73,800 at the 1-year key rate, −$146,155 at 5-year, and −$56,240 at 10-year (as of 6/30/26). The 5-year bucket carries the largest sensitivity, consistent with an intermediate-maturity credit portfolio. This is a raw DV01 risk metric — a vendor "effective duration" figure is not disclosed in these filings and is marked N/A.
HoldingTypeMaturity% of Net Assets
U.S. Treasury NotesDebt (Treasury)2027-02-151.09%
1261229 BC LtdDebt2032-04-150.57%
DISH DBS CorpDebt2028-12-010.47%
DaVita IncDebt2030-06-010.47%
American Airlines / AAdvantage Loyalty IPDebt2029-04-200.41%
Advance Auto Parts IncDebt2030-08-010.40%
Tenet Healthcare CorpDebt2032-11-150.39%
TransDigm IncDebt2033-01-150.38%
Ford Motor CoDebt2032-02-120.37%
Meridian Arc Holdco LLCDebt2031-04-300.36%
Source: N-PORT-P, CIK 0000906013, accession 0001410368-26-086306, filed 2026-08-26; portfolio holdings as of 2026-06-30.
Top 10 exclusions: two Intercontinental Exchange CDX credit-default-swap positions (0.60% and 0.56%) and the AB Government Money Market short-term investment vehicle (0.44%) were excluded from the ranking as derivative and financing/cash positions — 3 line items excluded; Top 10 named security holdings shown, 10 of 25 shown.
N/A: effective duration and yield-to-worst — N-PORT provides DV01 by maturity bucket, not a duration figure.
Leverage
Leverage Type
Derivatives
Interest rate futures, currency forwards, CDS, rate swaps (per N-CSR) — no bank borrowing
Bank Borrowings
$0
Per N-PORT, as of 6/30/26
Interest Expense (FY26)
$148,822
Modest — per N-CSR Statement of Operations
Total Liabilities
$39.6M
Vs. $1,018.8M total assets (per 6/30/26 N-PORT)
Leverage on Returns (FY26)
Added
Leverage added to 12-mo returns; detracted over 6 months (per N-CSR)
Leverage Trend
Stable
No bank debt across the period

AWF's leverage is derivatives-based rather than traditional bank borrowing — an important distinction that changes where the risk shows up.

The Fund reported $0 of bank borrowings at 6/30/26 (per N-PORT) and only $148,822 of interest expense for all of FY26 (per the N-CSR Statement of Operations) — negligible for a ~$963M fund. Its economic leverage instead comes through interest rate futures, currency forwards, credit default swaps, and interest rate swaps, used to manage duration, currency and credit exposure (per the N-CSR commentary).

Because the leverage lives in derivatives, it shows up in the risk disclosures rather than a borrowing line. Over FY26 the N-CSR notes leverage added to returns over the 12-month period (the benchmark outran the fund's financing rates) but detracted over the trailing six months. Total liabilities of $39.6M against $1,018.8M of total assets (per 6/30/26 N-PORT) leave a comfortable asset cushion.

True Cost of Ownership

FY26 total expenses were $10.0M against ~$963M of net assets — an all-in expense burden of roughly 1.04%.

Per the Fund's N-CSR Statement of Operations, total expenses before interest were $9.85M, interest expense was $0.15M, and net expenses after a small $29,908 adviser waiver were $9.97M. Against average net assets near $963M, that is an expense ratio of approximately 1.0%–1.04% — and because AWF carries no bank leverage, there is no large separate financing-cost stack of the kind a debt-levered CEF adds on top.

Operating Expense ~1.02%
Interest Expense ~0.02%
All-in cost ≈ 1.04% of net assets · Computed from FY26 total expenses ($10.0M) ÷ ~$963M net assets, per the Fund's N-CSR Statement of Operations. The advisory fee alone was $8.81M.
Cost ComponentFY26 AmountWhat It Covers
Advisory fee$8.81MInvestment management fee (per N-CSR)
Other operating expenses$1.04MCustody, transfer agency, audit, admin, legal, etc.
Interest expense$0.15MNegligible — no bank leverage
Less adviser waiver−$0.03MExpenses waived/reimbursed by adviser
Net expenses$9.97M≈ 1.04% of net assets
All figures per the Fund's N-CSR Statement of Operations for the year ended 3/31/26. The ~1.04% ratio is computed against ~$963M period-end net assets and is close to but not identical to a formal average-net-assets expense ratio, which was not stated in the fetched filing.
Stress History — Prior Drawdowns (period-end)
Period-end NAV Market TR (NAV) TR (Mkt) Stress-period action
Sep 30, 2008
6 mo
$12.15 $10.03 −8.14% −20.06% No action identified
Mar 31, 2009
12 mo
$9.58 $8.29 −18.61% −25.76% No action identified
Sep 30, 2009
6 mo
$13.44 $12.61 47.66% 60.10% No action identified
Mar 31, 2020
12 mo
$10.74 $9.26 −11.18% −14.43% No action identified
Sep 30, 2020
6 mo
$12.15 $10.51 17.62% 17.90% No action identified
Period-end figures only. These are values as of the fund's reporting period-end, not intra-period lows. The maximum drawdown during a crisis window is typically deeper than any period-end figure shows, because the trough rarely falls on a reporting date. Read these as "where the fund stood when it next reported," not as the worst point reached.
Return periods are not uniform. Each row is labelled with the period its total return covers. Rows marked 12 mo are full fiscal years; rows marked 6 mo are half-years measured from the start of that fiscal year. The −8.14% and −18.61% figures are not comparable to one another — the first covers six months, the second the full twelve months containing it.
"No action identified" means no leverage or crisis-response event was found in the filings scanned for that period. It is not confirmation that the fund took no action.
Sources: N-CSRS for the period ended September 30, 2008, filed December 4, 2008, accession 0001193125-08-247633 · N-CSR for the period ended March 31, 2009, filed June 8, 2009, accession 0001193125-09-126580 · N-CSRS for the period ended September 30, 2009, filed December 4, 2009, accession 0001193125-09-247202 · N-CSR for the period ended March 31, 2020, filed June 5, 2020, accession 0001193125-20-162147 · N-CSRS for the period ended September 30, 2020, filed December 4, 2020, accession 0001193125-20-310522.
Risk Factors
High
Credit Risk
62% of investments are below-investment-grade corporates (per N-CSR). In a recession or credit downturn, defaults and downgrades cause significant NAV declines — several issuers already carry zero market value at period-end. Primary risk.
High
Currency & Geopolitical Risk
No geographic limit; exposure spans dozens of countries including EM sovereigns. Currency decisions detracted over the 12-month period (per N-CSR commentary), and FX/political events affect NAV in ways a domestic fund never would.
Medium
Derivatives Complexity
CDS, currency forwards, rate swaps, and futures (per N-CSR) introduce basis and counterparty risk — and make the fund harder to monitor independently. ~2.6% of investments are Level 3 (marked to model).
Medium
Discount Widening
Price can fall independently of NAV. AWF closed FY26 at a −8.95% discount (per N-CSR); discount widening in a risk-off environment is a loss driver unique to CEFs, and the current level is pending a licensed daily feed.
Medium
Distribution Sustainability
Coverage ~92% (NII $62.1M vs. distributions $67.2M), small $0.62M return of capital, and NII down year-over-year (all per N-CSR). Not immediate but warrants monitoring.
Lower
Interest Rate Risk
Actively managed via interest rate futures and swaps (per N-CSR). N-PORT DV01 shows the largest sensitivity at the 5-year key rate; rate risk is managed rather than passively held.
06Manager Quality4/5Solid

AB is a credible global fixed-income manager with a long track record running unconstrained mandates across high-yield, EM sovereign, and investment-grade credit.

The Fund is managed by AB's Global High Income Investment Team, with Messrs. DiClementi, Distenfeld, Malik, Sheridan and Smith primarily responsible for day-to-day management (per the N-CSR). The adviser, AllianceBernstein L.P., has been in place since inception, and the auditor (Ernst & Young) notes it has served AB investment companies since 1968 — a mark of institutional continuity. Note: Mr. Distenfeld is expected to retire from the adviser effective December 31, 2026 (per the N-CSR), a personnel change worth tracking.

The soft spot is candid in the fund's own report: over both the six- and 12-month periods ended 3/31/26, AWF underperformed both its primary and blended benchmarks (per the N-CSR). Sector allocation — chiefly an underweight to EM sovereigns and an overweight to U.S. IG corporates — was the main detractor, partly offset by security selection in U.S. high yield.

Benchmark (12-mo)
Underperf.
Trailed both primary
& blended benchmark
Sector Allocation
Detractor
Underweight EM sov.,
overweight US IG
Security Selection
Contributor
US HY corporates
added value
Leverage (12-mo)
Additive
Benchmark outran
financing rates

Standardized trailing NAV/market-price total returns (1/3/5/10-year) are N/A — the "Average Annual Total Return" / "Fund Statistics" section was NOT FOUND in the fetched N-CSR, so specific return percentages are not reproduced here rather than fabricated. What the filing does confirm qualitatively: the fund trailed its benchmarks over the trailing year, with the underperformance concentrated in sector allocation rather than security selection. The gap between NAV and price returns that CEFs typically show is amplified by the −8.95% period-end discount discussed in Valuation.

Comparable Funds
TickerFundYield1-Yr NAV Curr Disc5-Yr AvgLevvs. AWF
AWFthis AB Global High Income ~7.7% −8.95%†Pending Deriv. Global HY + EM sovereign · no bank debt · $963M
PTYPIMCO Corp & Income Opp N/A N/AN/A Yes U.S.-focused, typically trades at a premium — peer figures not fetched from EDGAR —
EDDMS EM Domestic Debt N/A N/AN/A — Pure EM local currency — peer figures not fetched from EDGAR—
PHKPIMCO High Income N/A N/AN/A Yes U.S. HY, historically premium — peer figures not fetched from EDGAR—
BINCBlackRock Flexible Income ETF N/A N/AN/A No ETF — no discount mechanic; peer figures not fetched from EDGAR —
*AWF's standardized 1-year NAV total return is N/A — the Fund Statistics/Average Annual Total Return table was not found in the fetched N-CSR. †The −8.95% discount is AWF's own period-end figure (price $10.17 ÷ NAV $11.17, 3/31/26, per N-CSR), not a live value. Peer yield/discount figures require a licensed daily NAV/price feed and were not fetched from EDGAR for the comparison funds — they are marked N/A rather than estimated. The key test once AWF's own daily feed is live: compare the current discount to its trailing average before treating −8.95% as cheap.
07Liquidity4/5Adequate
Avg Daily Volume
—Pending daily feed
Avg Dollar Volume
—Pending daily feed
Typical Bid-Ask Spread
—Pending daily feed

AWF is an established, diversified NYSE-listed closed-end fund with roughly $963M in net assets (3/31/26 N-CSR) — large enough that most retail-sized positions can be traded without difficulty. The N-CSR notes daily NAV and market-price information is published at www.abfunds.com and www.nyse.com and weekly in Barron's.

Average daily share volume, dollar volume, and typical bid-ask spread require a licensed daily market-data feed — not derivable from EDGAR's periodic filings — and will populate once that feed is connected.

Trading liquidity is distinct from the discount question in Valuation: it is about whether a retail-sized order moves the price and how wide the buy/sell gap runs. As a practical matter, for a fund of this size, limit orders are prudent on positions above roughly $50K. Precise execution-cost figures are marked pending rather than estimated.

08Tax Treatment2/5Ordinary Income
Tax Form
1099-DIV · No K-1
RIC / closed-end corporation structure. No partnership complexity.
Income Character
Primarily Ordinary Income
Bond interest — $71.5M interest income in FY26 (per N-CSR); $64.0M designated section 163(j) interest dividends.
Qualified Dividends
Expected Minimal
AWF holds bonds, not equities; only ~$0.6M of dividend income in FY26.
Return of Capital
Small — $0.62M (FY26)
~0.9% of distributions per N-CSR; reduces cost basis. FY25 ROC was $0.
Tax-Exempt Income
None
AWF holds taxable bonds (small US municipal sleeve is taxable to the fund's investors as ordinary income via distributions).
Best Account
IRA First, Then Taxable
Ordinary income is most efficient in tax-deferred accounts.
Illustrative, not personalized advice. At a ~7.7% distribution yield, after-tax yield is approximately 5.24% in the 32% federal bracket, 5.01% at 35%, and 4.85% at 37% (federal only; state and NIIT not modeled). Because the income is overwhelmingly ordinary bond interest — not qualified dividends — the tax drag is meaningful in a taxable account. Not a reason to avoid AWF, but a reason to prioritize IRA placement.
09Best For / Avoid If & AllocationIllustrative · Not personalized advice
✓
Best For
  • Income investors wanting genuine global diversification — AWF is one of the few liquid ways to access global HY credit and EM sovereign debt in a single monthly-paying CEF
  • Investors comfortable with the CEF discount mechanic who want a distribution yield plus potential discount narrowing from the current −8.95% period-end level as a second return driver
  • Portfolios already heavy in domestic-focused income that need a non-correlated global credit component with no bank leverage
  • IRA holders wanting high monthly income without K-1 complexity
✕
Avoid If
  • Currency and EM risk are outside your comfort zone — currency decisions were a detractor over the trailing year (per N-CSR)
  • You need the highest possible yield — a majority below-IG portfolio at ~7.7% is deliberately quality-tilted, not maximized
  • Tax sensitivity is a priority in a taxable account — ordinary-income treatment means effective after-tax yield is materially lower than the headline
  • You want a fund you can fully evaluate at a glance — the CDS/forwards/swaps overlay makes AWF harder to monitor than a plain bond fund
Allocation Guidance
Illustrative ranges only. These are general educational guidelines for different income investor profiles — not a recommendation for any individual's portfolio sizing. Consider your own circumstances and consult a financial professional before investing.
Conservative
0–2%
Optional satellite only
A 62%-below-IG portfolio with EM and currency exposure introduces more volatility than fits a conservative income core. IG bond CEFs or muni CEFs are a better fit.
Balanced
3–7%
Global HY diversifier
Reasonable for portfolios with existing U.S. IG and senior-loan exposure. AWF's non-U.S. tilt reduces geographic concentration meaningfully, and it carries no bank leverage.
Growth Income
5–10%
Meaningful global sleeve
Investors accepting higher volatility may hold a meaningful position. Discount context relative to AWF's own historical range is pending a licensed daily feed — see Valuation.
10Corporate Actions & Update Log
2026
Manager
Pending PM retirement
Gershon M. Distenfeld, a Vice President and member of the Global High Income Investment Team, is expected to retire from the adviser effective December 31, 2026 (per the Fund's N-CSR). No change in adviser; the balance of the five-person team remains in place.
2025
Board
Board / director additions
Alex Chaloff (interested director) and Emilie D. Wrapp (disinterested director) began serving as directors of the AB Funds Complex in 2025 (per the N-CSR). No change in investment mandate.
No rights offerings, mergers, or material mandate changes disclosed in the fetched N-CSR for the reporting period.
Update Log
Jun 13, 2026
Initial Fund File published
Primary sources: SEC N-CSR for fiscal year ended March 31, 2026 (CIK 0000906013, accession 0001193125-26-256606, filed 2026-06-04) and N-PORT-P as of June 30, 2026 (accession 0001410368-26-086306, filed 2026-08-26). Confirmed from N-CSR: market price $10.17 and NAV $11.17 (3/31/26, discount −8.95% computed); net assets $963.4M; NII $62.1M vs. distributions $67.2M (coverage ~92%); return of capital $0.62M; interest income $71.5M; total expenses $10.0M; portfolio 62.0% non-IG corporates; Level 3 ~2.6%. From N-PORT: $0 bank borrowings, 1,259 holding rows, top holdings and DV01 by maturity bucket. Inline-XBRL facts were unavailable for this filer (not tagged); no Section 19(a) notice was located in SEC EDGAR — distribution character is therefore an estimate. Standardized trailing total returns, a quality-rating ladder, and precise country weights were NOT FOUND in the fetched N-CSR windows and are marked N/A. Discount z-score, 52-week discount range, live premium/discount, and daily trading-liquidity metrics require a licensed daily NAV/price feed and are marked pending.