SPYD
SPDR Portfolio S&P 500 High Dividend ETF
SPYD is about as simple as a dividend fund gets. It owns the highest-yielding stocks in the S&P 500 — 78 of them, in roughly equal amounts — and charges just 0.07% a year. No options, no borrowing, no complex instruments.
The income is real: every dollar SPYD paid out over the past six years came from dividends it collected, not from handing investors their own money back. Like any ETF it holds nothing back — tax rules oblige it to distribute substantially all of what it collects — so the payout tracks its holdings directly, with nothing in reserve to smooth a bad year. In each of the last three it paid out slightly more per share than it earned, and over five years the payout has grown about 3.6% a year.
The tradeoff is performance. Because SPYD picks stocks for their high dividends, it leans heavily toward utilities, real estate, energy and banks, and owns almost none of the big technology companies that have led the market. That's why it returned 17.5% last year while the S&P 500 returned 22.3%.
SPYD follows the S&P 500 High Dividend Index, which takes the 80 highest-yielding companies in the S&P 500, weights them equally, and redoes the list every January and July. Nobody is choosing stocks — the index rules decide what the fund owns.
The rule is yield, and yield has a share price in it. A company's yield here is its indicated annual dividend — the latest dividend, excluding one-off specials, times how often it is paid — divided by the share price on the rebalancing date. Because the price sits underneath, a falling share price raises a company's yield and can pull it into the index: SPYD buys what has become cheap relative to its dividend. Across the two rebalances in each of the last two years it swapped 12 to 15 holdings, taking in companies yielding about 4% and dropping ones at 3.4–3.5%. The index's full rules are published separately by S&P Dow Jones Indices and are not part of SPYD's SEC filings, so this page doesn't restate them.
Two things to know:
- Its sector mix is a side effect of chasing yield. The largest industries — the labels the fund itself puts beside each holding — are electric utilities (9.1%), oil and gas (8.2%), apartment and housing REITs (7.7%), banks (7.4%) and specialized REITs such as cell towers and storage (7.4%). Where this page needs a broader view it gathers those 32 industries into the eleven standard sectors; it uses those two words in that sense throughout.
- It's plain stock ownership. About 99% of the fund is in stocks and the rest in cash. It doesn't borrow money or use options to boost income; a small futures position just keeps its spare cash invested in the market.
The result is predictable: SPYD captures the dividend-paying, value-oriented part of the market and misses most growth-led rallies. That tilt is the most important thing to understand before comparing it with the S&P 500.
A cheap, simple, well-diversified dividend fund whose payouts come entirely from the dividends it collects and pass straight through to shareholders, so its income moves with whatever its holdings pay. Holding it back: payout growth that has come from the index swapping in higher-yielding stocks rather than from its companies raising dividends — 83–88% of it over the last two years — a heavy REIT weight that holds down the share of its dividends taxed at the lower qualified rate, and a value tilt that has trailed the S&P 500 — 8.6% a year against 15.5% over ten years.
Solid ground: a 0.07% fee, $7.4 billion in assets, no borrowing, and a structure designed to keep the share price near the value of its holdings. An IRA is the better home for it; a taxable account is workable, just less efficient.
View full analysis →
View full analysis →
View full analysis →
View full analysis →
View full analysis →
View full analysis →
SPYD passes along the dividends its stocks pay, minus its small fee. In the year ended June 30, 2026, it earned $1.98 per share that way and paid out $2.03 — a little more than it earned, as in each of the two years before.
That isn't a red flag on its own. In all six years shown below, every dollar paid out came from the fund's investment income, and for tax purposes none of it was a capital gain or investors' own money being handed back. It does mean the payout is a straight passthrough: the fund keeps nothing back between years, so if the companies SPYD owns cut their dividends, SPYD's payout falls with them.
Share-price swings and other investors' selling don't by themselves change the payout, which follows the dividends the fund's stocks pay. When large investors cash out, the fund generally hands over stocks rather than selling them — its annual report records these as in-kind redemptions — and a standard accounting practice (equalization) keeps each remaining share's portion of undistributed income unchanged.
| Fiscal Year (ends June 30) | Earned | Paid Out | Coverage |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | $1.98 | $2.03 | 0.98× |
| 2025 | $1.84 | $1.92 | 0.96× |
| 2024 | $1.73 | $1.83 | 0.95× |
| 2023 | $1.66 | $1.78 | 0.93× |
| 2022 | $1.60 | $1.57 | 1.02× |
| 2021 | $1.48 | $1.91 | 0.77× |
The majority of SPYD (79%) is invested in companies that earned enough over the last three years to cover their dividends. Most of the rest (17%) covered the dividend from day-to-day operations but not once capital spending was paid — mainly utilities, which make up about two-thirds of that band.
SPYD's own payout is only as safe as the dividends it collects. So we looked at each of the fund's 78 stocks and asked a simple question: over its last three fiscal years, did the company earn enough to cover the dividends it paid? Looking at three years rather than one keeps a single unusual year — a big construction bill, a one-off charge — from deciding the answer.
| Band | What it means | Last 3 years | Latest year |
|---|---|---|---|
| Comfortable | Paid out less than 75% of what they earned — room to spare | 63% | 59% |
| Tight | Paid out 75–100% of what they earned — covered, but with little cushion | 16% | 17% |
| Covered before investment | Day-to-day operations covered the dividend, but not once capital spending was paid; the rest came from other sources, such as borrowing, cash on hand or asset sales. Mostly utilities. | 17% | 20% |
| Not covered | Didn't cover the dividend even from day-to-day operations (for banks and asset managers, from profits) | 3% | 3% |
| Cash & other | Not invested in stocks | 1% | 1% |
See each company's three-year record
| Company | Share of fund | FY2023 | FY2024 | FY2025 | Why it's listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Franklin Resources | 1.6% | ✓ Covered · 70% | ✗ Not covered · 146% | ✗ Not covered · 141% | Not covered over 3 years |
| KeyCorp | 1.3% | ✓ Covered · 93% | ✗ Not covered · loss | ✓ Covered · 54% | Not covered over 3 years |
| Dow | 1.2% | ✓ Covered · 69% | ◐ Before investment · 67% | ✗ Not covered · 144% | Not covered in latest year |
| ONEOK | 1.4% | — before merger | ✓ Covered · 81% | ◐ Before investment · 46% | Slipping |
| Kimberly-Clark | 1.3% | ✓ Covered · 57% | ✓ Covered · 65% | ◐ Before investment · 60% | Slipping |
| LyondellBasell | 1.2% | ✓ Covered · 47% | ✓ Covered · 87% | ◐ Before investment · 78% | Slipping |
| Hormel | 1.2% | ✓ Covered · 76% | ✓ Covered · 61% | ◐ Before investment · 75% | Slipping |
Coverage asks whether a company earned enough to pay its dividend. What it owes is a separate claim on the same cash: interest and maturing debt get paid whether or not the dividend does. Measured against what they owe, the typical SPYD holding carries 5.4 years of its operating cash flow in borrowings.
| What the companies owe | Share of fund |
|---|---|
| Under 3 years of cash flow — 13 holdings | 17% |
| 3 to 6 years — 26 holdings | 33% |
| 6 to 9 years — 25 holdings | 32% |
| 9 years or more — 3 holdings | 4% |
| Not measured — banks, insurers and Ford | 15% |
How we measured what they owe
How we measured coverage
How firm are these figures?
SPYD holds its 78 companies in roughly equal amounts — none is more than 1.6% of the fund — so its income is concentrated by sector rather than by company: real estate investment trusts supply 28% of it, consumer staples 16%, and banks and insurers 11%. Across the 85% of the fund with a five-year record, those companies raised their dividends by a median of 4.1% a year over the past five years (weighted average 5.4%).
That's the companies' own record, not SPYD's: its index replaces holdings every January and July, so the companies it held on June 30, 2026 are not all the ones behind its past payouts. SPYD's Own Payout, below, shows how its own payout grew and why.
Dividends within a sector tend to move together — REIT payouts follow rents, occupancy and the cost of refinancing debt — and by sector, SPYD's largest source of income has turned. The dividends its REITs pay the fund grew 4.5% a year over five years, then fell 1.6% in the latest year: the raises across the other REITs did not make up for the three that cut. Chemicals, paper and packaging — 6% of the fund but 9% of its income — fell 6.6%. Every other sector grew.
See the figures
| Growth in the dividends each sector pays SPYD | Five years | Latest year |
|---|---|---|
| Whole fund | +4.0% a year | +0.8% |
| Real Estate | +4.5% a year | −1.6% |
| Consumer Staples | +5.0% a year | +2.6% |
| Financials | +4.5% a year | +3.1% |
| Utilities | +2.4% a year | +3.4% |
| Materials (chemicals, paper & packaging) | not shown | −6.6% |
| Energy | +5.8% a year | +3.9% |
| Communication Services (telecom & media) | not shown | +2.7% |
| Health Care | +4.3% a year | +1.4% |
| Consumer Discretionary (retail, cars & leisure) | not shown | +4.7% |
| Information Technology | not shown | +4.1% |
| Industrials | not shown | +0.9% |
See the figures, with the raises by size
| What the companies did with their dividend | Over five years | In the latest year |
|---|---|---|
| Cut it | 7% | 4% |
| Held it flat | 1% | 19% |
| Raised it | 76% | 74% |
| — slowly (up to 3% a year) | 21% | — |
| — moderately (3–7% a year) | 31% | — |
| — strongly (7%+ a year) | 24% | — |
| Not measured | 15% | 1% |
Utilities look different, and they are the test of whether debt alone tells you anything. All nine of them sit in “covered before investment” — two-thirds of that whole band — because regulated construction is funded with borrowing and share sales by design, not out of operating cash alone. They owe as much as the REITs, about 7.0 years of cash flow each, and the two that owe the most — Dominion Energy and Exelon — paid out only 40% and 28% of their operating cash flow over three years. In the latest year 89% of the fund's utility weight raised its dividend, and none cut. Borrowing to build is not the same as borrowing to pay.
How we measured growth
How we measured the income shares
| Period ending 2025 | From | To | Growth (CAGR) | What's behind it |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 year (2024→2025) | $1.86 | $1.96 | +5.4% a year | — |
| 3 years (2022→2025) | $1.99 | $1.96 | −0.5% a year | Starts in 2022, the highest year on record — a high starting point. The payout has risen each year since 2023. |
| 5 years (2020→2025) | $1.64 | $1.96 | +3.6% a year | — |
| 9 years (2016→2025) | $1.51 | $1.96 | +2.9% a year | The fund's whole history. There is no ten-year figure — SPYD began operations on October 21, 2015 and its shares first traded the next day, so 2016 is its first full year. |
| What raised the dividend income behind each SPYD share | Year to June 2025 | Year to June 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| Its companies raising or cutting their dividends | +0.6% | +0.9% |
| The index changing what SPYD owns | +4.6% | +4.5% |
| Total | +5.3% | +5.5% |
How we measured where the growth came from
Sources
SPYD's share price stays very close to the value of its holdings (see Liquidity →), so the useful valuation question is different: is today's yield high or low compared with SPYD's own history?
Answering that needs a daily price history, which isn't available yet. This section will show the comparison once it is.
One advantage doesn't depend on timing: a 0.07% annual fee, which lets nearly all of the dividends the fund collects flow through to shareholders.
SPYD's 78 stocks are held in roughly equal amounts, so no single company dominates — the 10 largest together are about 15% of the fund. The concentration is by sector instead: real estate investment trusts (REITs) make up about 27% of the fund, and utilities about 12%; pipeline companies, which the fund counts under oil and gas, are part of a further 8%. REITs and utilities both tend to be sensitive to interest rates.
The 29% turnover is the rule working, not a manager trading. SPYD's index takes the 80 highest-yielding stocks in the S&P 500, weights them equally and rebuilds itself every January and July — yield as of the rebalancing date is the only stated test, with no earnings, payout-ratio or dividend-history requirement. So roughly a third of the portfolio is replaced each year by formula, and a company is dropped when its yield falls — which happens when its share price rises as readily as when it cuts. What a buy-and-hold investor owns here is the rule, not the holdings list above; that list is a snapshot with a six-month shelf life.
In a rally led by low-dividend growth and technology stocks, SPYD will own almost none of the winners. In the fund's own words from its latest annual report, it “did not capture the large returns of these low dividend paying stocks.”
| Holding | Industry | % of Fund |
|---|---|---|
| Iron Mountain, Inc. REIT | Specialized REITs | 1.6% |
| Franklin Resources, Inc. | Capital Markets | 1.6% |
| CVS Health Corp. | Health Care Providers | 1.5% |
| Host Hotels & Resorts, Inc. REIT | Hotel & Resort REITs | 1.5% |
| Edison International | Electric Utilities | 1.5% |
| Target Corp. | Consumer Staples Retail | 1.5% |
| APA Corp. | Oil, Gas & Consumable Fuels | 1.5% |
| Viatris, Inc. | Pharmaceuticals | 1.5% |
| Kimco Realty Corp. REIT | Retail REITs | 1.4% |
| Simon Property Group, Inc. REIT | Retail REITs | 1.4% |
SPYD has been through one serious fall: in the first half of 2020 the value of a share dropped 29.4%, and it took eighteen months from the peak to get back. But the number that matters depends on what you do with the income, and the two answers are far apart.
| Peak | Low | Fall in share value | Same window, reinvested | Back above the peak | Round trip |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dec 31, 2017 | Dec 31, 2018 | −8.9% | −4.8% | Jun 30, 2019 | 18 mo |
| Dec 31, 2019 | Jun 30, 2020 | −29.4% | −27.2% | Jun 30, 2021 | 18 mo |
| Dec 31, 2021 | Jun 30, 2023 | −11.8% | −5.1% | Dec 31, 2024 | 36 mo |
| Dec 31, 2024 | Jun 30, 2025 | −1.7% | +0.4% | Dec 31, 2025 | 12 mo |
The gap between those two columns is the distributions. SPYD pays out 4–5% of its value a year and retains nothing, so that money leaves the share price the day it is paid. An investor who spends the income therefore sees a deeper fall and a longer wait than the total-return figure suggests. The 2022–23 decline is the clearest case: 11.8% off the value of a share and three years to recover it, against 5.1% and two years for someone reinvesting. Neither number is wrong; they answer different questions, and an income investor drawing on this fund is asking the first one.
The payout recovered later than the price did. SPYD's value was back above its pre-COVID level by June 30, 2021. Its distributions per share were $1.75 in 2019, then $1.64 in 2020 and $1.55 in 2021 — they did not pass the 2019 figure until 2022, at $1.99. An investor watching the share price would have seen a full recovery a year or more before the income followed. That ordering is what the Payout Tracks Its Holdings Directly risk below looks like in practice: dividend cuts are declared after the damage, and the fund passes them on when they arrive.
SPYD is an index fund, so manager quality means how closely it tracks its index and how little it costs — not stock picking. On both counts, State Street runs it well.
Judge it against its own index, not the S&P 500. Last year SPYD returned 17.5% against 17.7% for the S&P 500 High Dividend Index, a gap of about 0.1 point — roughly its fee plus trading costs. Over five years the gap is just 0.04 point a year (8.23% versus 8.27%).
Trailing the broader S&P 500 is a result of the strategy, not the manager: the index SPYD follows simply leaves out most of the market's growth leaders. But that is not the whole gap. Over calendar 2018–2025 SPYD returned 6.72% a year against 10.54% for SPYV — the same sponsor's plain S&P 500 value fund, which also owns none of the growth leaders and charges less. The difference between them is the yield screen itself, not the value tilt they share; see Comparable Funds below.
| Ticker | Fund | Yield | Return a Year | Expense Ratio | Strategy Note | Fund File |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SPYDthis | SPDR Portfolio S&P 500 High Dividend ETF | 4.64% | +6.72% | 0.07% | Highest-yielding 80 S&P 500 names, ~equal weighted; heavy value/utility/REIT tilt | |
| SPYV | SPDR Portfolio S&P 500 Value ETF | 2.26% | +10.54% | 0.04% | Same sponsor, broad S&P 500 value — no yield screen at all. Cheapest of the three, and the best return over these eight years. | — |
| SDY | SPDR S&P Dividend ETF | 2.63% | +7.88% | 0.35% | Same sponsor; dividend-growth (aristocrats) screen rather than raw yield. Five times SPYD's fee, and the mildest worst year of the three (−2.7% in 2018). | — |
| HDV | iShares Core High Dividend ETF | — | — | 0.08% | Competing high-dividend screen (Morningstar-based). Its fiscal year ends April 30, so no filing of its reports a period ending December 31 and no calendar-year figure can be derived without inventing one. Its fee is comparable all the same — a ratio doesn't depend on which months it covers. | — |
| SCHD | Schwab U.S. Dividend Equity ETF | — | — | 0.06% | Quality + dividend-growth screen; a common alternative with a stronger quality tilt. Its fiscal year ends August 31 — same problem for returns, but note it is the second-cheapest of the five, undercutting SPYD. | — |
ETFs have a built-in way to keep their share price close to the value of what they own. When the two drift apart, large trading firms can create or redeem shares and profit from the gap, which pulls the price back in line — usually within minutes. SPYD holds only large, heavily traded U.S. stocks, so this works well.
At $7.4 billion in assets, SPYD is a large, established fund, which generally means it's easy to buy and sell. Exact figures for daily trading volume and trading costs need daily market data that isn't available yet; they'll be added when it is.
| Fiscal Year (ends June 30) | Ordinary Dividends | Capital Gains | Return of Capital | Share Taxed at Lower Rates |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | $330.5M | $0 | $0 | Not disclosed |
| 2025 | $299.6M | $0 | $0 | Not disclosed |
| 2024 | $310.2M | $0 | $0 | Not disclosed |
- Cost-conscious income investors who want a simple, low-fee dividend stock fund
- Investors who want a real value/income tilt that behaves differently from an S&P 500 index fund
- IRAs and other tax-advantaged accounts, where the tax character of the payout doesn't matter
- Investors who want payouts funded entirely by dividends, not by returning their own money
- You want to keep pace with the broad market — SPYD trailed the S&P 500 by about 4.8 points last year and about 5.2 points a year over five years, by design
- You're investing in a taxable account and taxes matter — the large REIT weight holds down the share taxed at the lower qualified rate, and the fund's filings never state the figure
- You want a rapidly growing payout — SPYD's has grown about 3.6% a year over five years (6.0% since 2021); a dividend-growth fund may fit better